Skip navigation

Wow, how time goes my by. It is one year to the day since the ‘U Couldn’t Make It Up’ blog launched!

Firstly I can’t believe I have kept this going, I can easily get distracted by things so to make it to one year is no mean feat for me. I’m very pleased with the first year’s work, so many great and not so great stories have been told and are still to be told. All the posts from my university ‘You Couldn’t Make It Up’ book have been turned into posts and posted. Now anyone can see my book here.

So a few little things that I haven’t mentioned before – you may wonder why my university book is called ‘You Couldn’t Make It Up’ and the blog is called ‘U Couldn’t Make It Up’? Pretty simple, someone already had the WordPress URL ‘You Couldn’t Make It Up’ so I had to go with this annoyingly. My favourite post so far I would have to say is the ‘Zoo Man Photo Shoot’ – when I went back home once some people I hadn’t seen since school had even read this post (through a Facebook link). I often get asked about some of my blog’s stats, well here are some of the interesting ones…

  • 186 posts
  • 5,512 unique visitors
  • 170 was the most in one day
  • 65 comments – I really want to improve this next year
  • Most searched for term by a mile is ‘cherry chevapravatdumrong’ – due to my post on this person from the ‘Family Guy’ TV show
  • Some of more unusual terms include ‘simon cowell’s girlfriend boob grope,’ ‘spank man’ and ‘oxford busker fluff you tube’ – these 3 are from just the last few days, just imagine all the others there are

So what are the plans for year 2? Well don’t worry, there is still plenty of material waiting to be told including eating chicken nuggets with a professional football player, my self assessment rant post in full and how I smuggled a 5ft mushroom into my car. I also plan to finally get round to publishing the first ‘U Couldn’t Make It Up’ book with a few new additions so the general public can buy it in time for Christmas – this is a top priority this year! I also intend to do some research on how to promote this blog further so more and more people can hear about these stories.

I’d like to say a big thank you to everyone who reads this blog – I enjoy writing these stories out, but hearing the enjoyment it brings to others really makes it worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

